





























April 28, 2019

Honorable Members of the House Resources Committee *Submitted via email* 

Re: Support of HB138, National Resource Water Nomination/Designation

Dear Chairs Lincoln, Tarr, and members of the House Resources Committee:

The undersigned broad coalition of organizations, representing diverse interests write to share comments in support of HB138, "An Act requiring the designation of state water as Outstanding National Resource Water to occur in statute, relating to management of outstanding national resource water of the Department of Environmental Conservation; and providing for an effective date."

Designation of an Outstanding National Resource Water (ONRW), commonly called Tier 3 waters, arises from federal antidegradation rules set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as mandated by the Clean Water Act (CWA). The rules, designed to ensure that the nation's waters are not degraded, have a three-tiered structure in which the most stringent level of protection, Tier 3, designates a water as an ONRW and prohibit new or expanded activities that change the water quality in any way (See Tier 3 implementing regulations 18 AAC 70.016 (d). This prohibition would apply even in situations where the activity could show that it meets water quality standards and fully protects fish, aquatic life, and other water uses.

EPA, under the CWA requires States to have a process in place by which nominations for Tier 3 waters can be submitted, contemplated, and designated (See 40 C.F.R. 131.12(a)(3)). In order to comply, the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has established policy in which decisions on nominations are made by the Legislature, consistent with Article 8 of the Alaska Constitution. (See November 30, 2018 letter from DEC Commissioner Larry Hartig to Senators). To meet EPA's Tier 3 designation process requirement and to provide certainty to the public, HB138 moves the DEC policy into statute.

An unfortunate reality is that a Tier 3 water designation has become a potential tool for special interests to use against the development of resource or industrial development projects. This has already been the case in other states, and it is evident in many of the nominations before DEC currently. The intent may be to block or delay development, but the implications go much further. A Tier 3 designation replaces management and enforcement of science-based water quality standards and regulations with a total prohibition of any new or expanded discharges, even if the discharge met state water quality standards and fully protected fish, aquatic life and other water uses. This would impact the waterbody's users such as motorized vessels, residential and commercial septic systems, stormwater permits associated with road building, seafood processors, timber harvesting, and much more.

Given the significant restrictions that would be placed on waterbodies designated as such, and the significant social and economic impacts to Alaska, it is our position that the authority to designate an ONRW or Tier 3 water must lie solely with the Legislature as the elected representatives of Alaskans, consistent with the Alaska Constitution. We stand together in support of HB138 and urge swift passage of this bill.

Sincerely,

Kati Capozzi, President & CEO Alaska Chamber of Commerce

Kara Moriarty, President/CEO Alaska Oil and Gas Association

Hara Moriar

Alicia Siira, Executive Director Associated General Contractors of

Mariou Durne

Marisa Sharrah, President/CEO Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce

Marleanna Hall, Executive Director Resource Development Council for Alaska

secoms H

June

Deantha Crockett, Executive Director Alaska Miners Association

Rebecca Logan, CEO

Alaska Support Industry Alliance

Karen Matthias, Executive Director Council of Alaska Producers

Craig E. Dahl, Executive Director The Greater Juneau Chamber of Commerce

Jaeleen Kookesh, VP General Counsel Sealaska Corporation Nils Andreassen, Executive Director Alaska Municipal League

Aves Thompson, Executive Director Alaska Trucking Association

Joseph Kahklen, President First Things First Alaska Foundation

Carrie Starkey, Executive Director Ketchikan Chamber of Commerce

Robert Venables, Executive Director Southeast Conference